Staff

The Argus is an independent student-run newspaper that operates out of Lakehead University. As part of Lakehead University’s Student Union, LUSU, The Argus has been the voice of Lakehead students since 1966. This October marks our fiftieth anniversary.

For fifty years, The Argus has been doing more than writing. We’ve been employing students and providing an enriched atmosphere to learn, grow, and develop journalistic passions and skills.

Our staff consists of five executives that control the day-to-day operations of the paper, as well as a number of editorial staffers that write for, and run, individual sections of the newspaper.

We additionally have a number of contributing members that write stories for us on an issue-to-issue basis. If you are interested in employment opportunities, or would like to write for The Argus, have a look at our job openings, or email editor@theargus.ca


Tamara Spence
Editor-in-Chief
editor@theargus.ca

Thomas Veneruz
Business Manager &
Logistics and Social Media
ads@theargus.ca

Samantha Mathers
News Editor
news@theargus.ca

Savanah Tillberg
Arts and Culture Editor
arts@theargus.ca

Sarah McPherson
Multimedia coordinator
multimedia@theargus.ca

Geena Mortfield
Copy Editor
copy@theargus.ca

Kaelen Pelaia
Staff Writer 

Gregory McGrath-Goudie
Orillia Bureau Chief
orillia@theargus.ca